Serbia Free Trade Agreements

Intellectual property protection provisions (Chapter 3 and Appendix VI) include patents, trademarks, copyrights and geographical indications. They are based on the WTO agreement on trade-related aspects of intellectual property rights (TRIPS) and provide a high level of protection, taking into account the principles of the most favoured nation and national treatment. Serbian Prime Minister Ana Brnabic and the Prime Ministers of Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Armenia and Kyrgyzstan, as well as UAE Board Chairman Tigran Sargsyan, signed the Free Trade Agreement between Serbia and the Union on 25 October 2019 in Moscow. Industrial products exported from Serbia to the EFTA Member States (Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein) are exempt from tariffs, with the exception of a very limited number of products, including fish and other seafood. Tariffs on imports of industrial products from EFTA states will be phased out by 2014. Agricultural trade is governed by separate agreements with each EFTA member providing reciprocal concessions for certain products. The agreement provides that products manufactured in Serbia, i.e. with an added value of at least 51% in the country, are considered to be of Serbian origin and exported duty-free to the Russian Federation. The list of products excluded from the free trade agreement is subject to an annual review. As of March 2012, the list of excluded products includes: poultry and edible waste, certain cheeses, sugar, sparkling wine, ethyl alcohol, tobacco, cotton thread and fabrics, certain types of compressors, tractors and new and used passenger cars. „Simply put, if Serbia opposes the agreement of this agreement, we would be without the agreements we have already concluded with Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan,“ he said. In addition to duty-free trade between Member States, the agreement provides for the accumulation of the origin of the product, i.e. that products exported from Serbia are of Serbian origin when integrated materials come from another COUNTRY of the ALECE, the European Union, Iceland, Norway, Switzerland (including Liechtenstein) or Turkey, provided that these products have undergone sufficient processing.

, i.e. if at least 51% of the added value of the product comes from Serbia (if it is greater than the value of the product). , materials used in Serbia). „Serbia has trade agreements with Russia, Kazakhstan and Belarus. Armenia and Kyrgyzstan are engaged. We play an important role – we unite the preferential trade regime for all the countries of the Union. This agreement will give new impetus to strengthening trade and economic cooperation with Serbia,“ said Tigran Sargsyan, President of the EEC Council. EU spokeswoman Maja Kocijancic told the Euraktiv portal that the European Commission was closely monitoring discussions on a trade agreement between Serbia and EAEU and expected Belgrade to move towards EU policy.